DERRY — Pinkerton Academy has announced its 2021 class for the high school's Hall of Fame.

Six new members will be inducted later this month, the Board of Trustees and Headmaster Timothy Powers announced.

The new members are: Norton Bagley, Ruth Bagley, Alfred Thomas Lannan, Stephen Lannan, Ronald Manseau and Harriet Prescott Spofford.

Norton Bagley is an alumnus from Pinkerton's Class of 1937 who served in World War II, earning the Bronze Star. He spent a long career at Plymouth State College and wrote a history of the college.

Ruth Bagley graduated from Pinkerton in 1929 and went on to a career in nursing, earning her doctorate and serving as a civilian nurse during World War II. She founded the nursing department at Saint Anselm College and was recognized often by colleagues in nursing both locally and nationally.

Alfred Thomas Lannan and Stephn Lannan, alumni from Pinkerton classes 1977 and 1986, respectively, were honored student athletes, are local business owners and remain longtime supporters of Pinkerton's athletic programs.

Ronald Manseau is a well-respected, retired faculty member and was Pinkerton's first full-time health teacher. He developed the school's original health curriculum. Manseau also coached, serving as varsity baseball coach for 30 years as well as being Pinkerton's first varsity ice hockey coach.

Harriet Prescott Spofford graduated from Pinkerton in 1855 and was a notable American writer. Her writing was featured in many respected publications and her career spanned more than six decades.

The induction ceremony for both the 2020 and 2021 Hall of Fame members is Thursday, Sept. 23, at 5:30 p.m. in the senior cafeteria. For tickets, contact alumni coordinator Meagan Sojka at 603-437-5200 ext. 1101.

Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you