DERRY — Pinkerton Academy announced the newest names to be inducted into the school's Hall of Fame during commencement exercises June 18.

Every year, Pinkerton receives nominations on possible Hall of Fame honorees, and chooses several alumni and others for induction.

Past honorees include astronaut Alan B. Shepard and poet Robert Frost. Other local notables include World War II veteran Walter Borowski, television personality Samantha Brown, and community leaders Roy Feinauer and Ernest P. Barka.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held this fall during the school's Homecoming festivities.

The following people will be honored in the fall and will take their places in Pinkerton's Hall of Fame for 2012:

Brian Balke, 1990, Pinkerton scholar and athlete, advocate for special needs children.

Matthew Jordan, 1994, Pinkerton running back, holds nine school records and four state records.

Harriet Chase Newell, attended Pinkerton from 1897 to 1899, Critic advisor, humanitarian, historian and Derry's Citizen of the Year.

Matthew Newcomb, 1997, scholar, athlete, Odyssey of the Mind national champion, singer, musician.

Capt. Christopher Ramsden, 1985, commanding officer of Fighting Tigers in support of operations Iraqi Freedom and Enduring Freedom, U.S. Navy.

Ralph Van Nostrand, honorary alumnus, 37-year Pinkerton teacher, coach, guidance counselor.

Rolfe Voltaire, longtime faculty member, Shepard Award winner, Pinkerton supporter and volunteer.

• • •

Join the discussion. To comment on stories and see what others are saying, log on to

Trending Video

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you