DERRY — Voters will consider some changes to the charter when they head to the polls Sept. 14.

The proposed charter changes, mostly language, follow months of work by an elected nine-member Charter Commission.

Voters will also choose a slate of candidates to go on to the general election on Nov. 2.

Many Derry incumbents and newcomers are seeking spots in the New Hampshire House of Representatives.

Incumbents seeking another term as District 5 state representatives are Republicans Beverly Ferrante, Robert Fesh, Phyllis Katsakiores, John T. O'Connor, Frank Sapareto, Kenneth Gould and Patricia Dowling. Other Republicans hoping for one of the 11 available spots are David Johnson, Katherine Prudhomme-O'Brien, Kevin Reichard, Andrew Manuse, James Webb and Brian Chirichiello.

Also running for a state representative position are Democrats Betsy Burtis, Nicholas Arancio, Deborah Cuenca, Eladio Cuenca, Jeffrey DeRego, and incumbents Gina Hutchinson and Barbara McCarthy.

In the state Senate, longtime Derry Sen. Robert Letourneau plans to retire at the end of this term. Republican Jim Rausch hopes to take over Letourneau's District 19 seat. Windham Democrat Kristi St. Laurent also has filed for the seat.

Districts 1 and 4 voters cast ballots at Gilbert H. Hood Middle School, District 2 voters head to Calvary Bible Church, and District 3 residents vote at West Running Brook Middle School. The polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

This Week's Circulars

Recommended for you