, Derry, New Hampshire

May 9, 2013

Londonderry volunteer receives Lincoln award

By Julie Huss

---- — LONDONDERRY — A longtime volunteer has earned one of the town’s top awards.

Kevin Foley received the 2013 Robert W. Lincoln Youth Service Award. He was presented with his honor during the spring pep rally May 3 at Londonderry High School.

The honor is presented to those who demonstrate leadership, volunteerism and a strong commitment and devotion to the town, especially youth.

High school assistant principal Art Psaledas presented Foley with a plaque.

The award is named for Bob Lincoln, a longtime volunteer who served on many town boards and committees.

Lincoln served on the School Board for 20 years, has served as chairman of many committees and is an active Londonderry Lions Club member.

Foley was chosen by the selection committee for his work with the town’s youth, including the soccer and lacrosse programs, and also on the recreation commission.

“Kevin M. Foley has given himself selflessly for the youth of Londonderry and clearly exemplifies the spirit of giving and volunteerism that exemplifies Bob Lincoln’s spirit of selfless volunteerism,” the award letter said.

Foley served as a general contractor for the Londonderry Youth Sports Association’s concession stand and designed pavilions for use at the town’s West Road Continental Park complex. He also volunteered his services as a contractor to build dugouts at the high school’s softball field. He has donated many hours to lay out and line the fields.

“He’s always in the background, fixing things,” Psaledas said. “And he is honestly one of the sweetest people I’ve ever come across in my life. He epitomizes what a volunteer is.”

Past recipients of the award include Kay Doyle, Terri Roucheleau, Scott Hale, Mary Theos, Dave Kelly, Ron Campo, John Reynolds, Bob Slater and Gary Fisher.

In addition to Foley’s honor, the pep rally also celebrated spring sports teams, top teachers and student organizations doing good things in the community.

Londonderry High School English and journalism teacher Mary Lukas DeWinkeleer was named the Dollars for Scholars Teacher of the Year and geography teacher Marie Laliberte took middle school top teacher honors.