, Derry, New Hampshire

January 31, 2013

Londonderry Fire Department honors its own

Derry News

---- — LONDONDERRY — The Londonderry Fire Department and Londonderry’s Professional Firefighters Local 3160 honored their own last weekend.

On Jan. 19, fire officials hosted the first-ever recognition ceremony.

More than 180 people attended the ceremony to honor fire officials for their longevity and service to the department.

The night was a joint effort between the fire department and Professional Firefighters Local 3160 union.

Fire Chief Kevin MacCaffrie said the night was a huge success.

“We honored those firefighters that achieved career service milestones and those that went above and beyond their regular duties to serve the department and the citizens,” MacCaffrie said. “We also recognized those who came before us for their service.”

Taking a top honor was Firefighter James “Bo” Butler, named the department’s Firefighter of the Year.

Butler and the other honorees were nominated by their peers. All nominations were vetted by a review committee of seven department members.

MacCaffrie was celebrated for his upcoming retirement as chief on March 1.

Those receiving honors include:

Completion of probation: Benjamin Blake, Michael Roberson, Christopher Schofield.

Length of service awards (10 to 19 years): Michael McQuillen, Elizabeth Mahon, Donald Waldron, Scott Geraghty, Patricia Hamann, Jeffrey Anderson, Michael Buco, Bruce Kenison, James Butler, James Gagne, Gary Dion, Jeremy Mague, Peter Devoe, Anthony Maccarone, Shawn Carrier, Brad Stocks, Robert Simard.

Length of service awards (20 to 29 years): Darren O’Brien, Douglas Cardwell, David Johnson, David Tallini, Frederick Heinrich, Brian Johnson, James Roger, Mark Brien, Michael Walsh, Suzanne Roy, James Bilodeau, Kevin Zins, Eugene Jastrem, Gerald Johnson, Jonathan Cares, William Brown Jr., Michael Roberts, Vincent Curro.

Length of service awards (30 to 39 years): Gordon Joudrey.