, Derry, New Hampshire

February 6, 2014

Londondery fire department honors its own

Derry News

---- — LONDONDERRY — Local firefighters honored their own recently and gave out awards for years of service and outstanding efforts.

The Londonderry Fire Department hosted it second annual awards recognition ceremony Jan. 25 at Londonderry High School.

Top awards went to Phil LeBlanc, Firefighter of the Year, and Lt. Jeremy Mague, Fire Officer of the Year.

Those men received the honors after being nominated by their peers and then selected by a committee.

Other awards given to firefighters included:

Vinny Curro, Support Services Member of the Year; merit awards to Mike Buco, Ben Blake, Stephen Cotton, James Gagne, Brad Stocks, Donald Waldron and Kevin Zins for a commendable response to a motor vehicle accident; Kevin Barnett, Mark Brien and Bruce Hallowell for Emergency Medical Services Quality Assurance Inspection; Kevin Barnett, James Bilodeau, James “Bo” Butler, Jonathan Camire, Douglas Cardwell, David Johnson and Phil LeBlanc for a response to assist with childbirth; Patricia Hamann, Brian Johnson, Phil LeBlanc for community relations work.

Other honors awarded include:

Michale Englund and Christopher Gagnon, completion of probation; Michael Benoit and Donald Emerson, 10 years of service; MIchael McQuillen, 20 years of service; and Chief Darren O’Brien, 30 years of service.

O’Brien has served as the town’s fire chief since March, when he was named the top official in the department following the retirement of former Chief Kevin MacCaffrie.