, Derry, New Hampshire


March 13, 2014

Derry voters come out in small numbers

Just 6.2 percent of voters cast their ballots in election


Renee Routhier beat out challenger Janet Bhagat for the six-year term, 720-346. Lorraine Routhier won the four-year job over Margaret Mullins, 561-491.

Incumbents Aimee Huntemann and Ed Ciancio won the two open Taylor Library trustee jobs with 809 and 735 votes, respectively, in an uncontested race for three-year terms.

Incumbents Dorothy Wiley and Phyllis Howard also won another three-year term as Derry Public Library trustees, with 564 and 412 votes, respectively. Lynne Mann took the third open position with 489 votes. Christina Mentus got 404 votes; James Thomas earned 379 votes and M. Jackie Dempsey took 283 votes.

Town moderator Margie Ives ran unopposed, earning another two-year term with 1,035 votes.

On the school side, voters approved the proposed $80.5 million school spending plan, 915-234.

Incumbent School Board members Dan McKenna and Wendy Smith also won three more years on the board in an uncontested race, earning 915 and 848 votes, respectively.

Derry elementary and middle school students also had the opportunity to cast their own ballots at polling places. Each school had a ballot that asked children to choose a special activity or event. Some choices included a pizza party, barbecue, pajama day or scavenger hunt.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Latest News