, Derry, New Hampshire


February 6, 2014

Derry, Londondery candidates sign up to run

The papers have been filed and the Town Meeting season is underway.

Candidates in Derry and Londonderry have filed to run for town and school district offices.

In Derry, two incumbent town councilors won’t seek another term, but three newcomers have signed up to run for the job.

Neither Brad Benson nor Neil Wetherbee will seek another term on the Derry Town Council.

That gives newcomers Joshua Bourdon, David Fischer and Marc Flattes a chance to run for two open council seats.

Bourdon will run for the open Councilor-at-Large seat for a three-year term. Fischer and Flattes will square off for the open three-year District 3 Council position.

The Supervisors of the Checklist will have a contested race with incumbents Lorraine Routhier and her daughter Renee Routhier going up against Margaret “Peg” Mullins and Janet Bhagat for an open four-year term and a six-year term, respectively.

Incumbent Margie Ives will seek another two-year term as town moderator.

Joel Olbricht and Kelly Mahony will vie for one three-year term as Trustee of Trust Funds.

There are three three-year terms open for Derry Public Library Trustees with incumbents Phyllis Howard and Dorothy Wiley going up against M. “Jackie” Dempsey, Lynn Mann, James Thomas and Christina Mentus.

Incumbent Taylor Library trustees Aimee Huntemann and Ed Ciancio will run for two open three-year terms.

Incumbent School Board members Dan McKenna and Wendy Smith will both seek another three-year term.

In Londonderry, there is a four-way race for two open Town Council positions.

Incumbents Joe Green and Tom Freda will square off against Christopher Melcher and John Robinson in the March election.

Robinson is currently a School Board member and Melcher serves on the town’s Budget Committee.

The Budget Committee has three three-year spots open, but Dana Coons is the sole candidate.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Latest News