, Derry, New Hampshire

May 16, 2013


VFW names Bartlett top high school teacher

Derry News

---- — Pinkerton Academy science teacher Brewster Bartlett was named the top high school teacher by the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 1617. The announcement was made during the local VFW’s annual Loyalty Day celebration May 5.

Bartlett has taught at Pinkerton since 1972 and leads not only his popular roadkill project with “Dr. Splatt,” but also advises Students for Environmental Action, co-advises Pinkerton’s Mogul Monsters skill group, organizes events to honor veterans, and participates in other community-oriented causes and activities.

West Running Brook honors music teacher

West Running Brook Middle School choral teacher Blake Leister took top honors as the school’s Teacher of the Month.

Every month, the Derry Education Association hosts the top teacher award. Teachers at individual schools are nominated by their peers for the top honors.

Leister in in his 11th year teaching at the school.

Pinkerton’s robotics team scores

Pinkerton Academy’s VEX Robotics team recently took part in the VEX world championship event and placed 35th out of 84 teams represented.

All team members earned a VEX world championship medal. The team is advised by Peg and Joe Cunningham.

Pinkerton design students win big

The New Hampshire Chapter of the American Institute of Architects recently announced the winners of its High School Design Contest, a program requiring students to work on a theoretical project throughout the school year to help increase awareness of relationships between space, human scale and function.

Students from Pinkerton Academy took several top honors in the competition. This year’s challenge was to design a Social and Media Center that would act as an information center for digital media while offering space for community members to gather. Students could work on their design and planning in groups or individually.

Pinkerton awards were: Best Model Describing Design Solution, Rachael Gaydos and Artem Batuyev; Best Graphic Presentation Describing Design Solution, Stefan Burnett and Aaron Glover; Patrick Chabot and Theodore Wallace earned recognition for their conceptual sketches; Jolene Jussif and Brian Ferullo earned honors for a well-organized plan on their design.