, Derry, New Hampshire


June 19, 2014


Biennial Alumni Day planned

DERRY — Pinkerton Academy hosts its Biennial Alumni Day Saturday, June 21, at noon at the senior cafe in the school’s Spaulding Center.

The longtime tradition joins alumni from all graduating classes for a luncheon and celebration. Prior to the meal, the Alumni Association hosts its annual business meeting.

For information, call 437-5217.

Register now for kindergarten

Londonderry families can register their children for kindergarten for the 2014-2015 school year at the Moose Hill School.

Any resident with a child turning 5 years old by Sept. 30 of this year can enroll.

Call the school at 437-5855 for information. visit to request a registration packet.

Moose Hill offers morning and afternoon kindergarten sessions. Sessions are determined by a child’s residence.

Pinkerton honors nursing assistants

DERRY — Twenty-one students in Pinkerton Academy’s Health Science Technology recently passed the New Hampshire state exam and are officially licensed nurse assistants.

The following students received certification: Shyanne Almeida-Pereira, Marissa Bennett, Chelsea Bousquet, Megan Chaganis, Mikki Dayak, Katrina Ebert, Colleen Fortier, Matt Galvin, Sydney Graves, Kelly Hare, Rae-Ann Iacuzio, Lexi Jenkins, Brooke Kirby, Sarina MacDonald, Kandal Murphy, Tayla Nault, Shayla O’Donnell, Eric Pouliot, Julie Saltamartini, Holly Wilder, Tess Woodward.

Students enjoy math program

LONDONDERRY — Thirty-one students at Matthew Thornton Elementary School enjoyed taking part in the Math Olympiads program.

The fourth- and fifth-grade students were among nearly 150,000 students worldwide participating in a series of monthly math contests, then practicing weekly under the supervision and coaching of Ann Smith, a curriculum teacher at the school.

Students received certificates for participation and 17 went on to earn national awards in the elementary division.

Matthew Thornton students Ryan Griffin and Derek Wagner earned a Silver Pin for being in the top 10 percent of all students taking part in the program.

The following students earned an embroidered felt patch for being in the top 50 percentile among participants: Ryan Griffin, Derek Wagner, Hunter Smith, Luc Lafond, Alex Gruchot, Cody Hanley, Annabella Wu, Evan Dugas, Michael O’Neil, Emma Donnelly, Alexis Enman, Carly Butler, Ryan Killelea, Ben Steele, Thomas Ryan-Hicks, Tyler Cote and Eli Fitzgerald.

The Math Olympiads program began in 1979 and serves students on teams all over the world.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Latest News