, Derry, New Hampshire

February 13, 2013

Council names members to scenic byway group

Derry News

---- — DERRY — Town councilors named four people to become part of a newly created group aimed at protecting a 44-mile stretch of historical byway that winds through five towns.

The Robert Frost/Old Stage Coach Scenic Byway Council is made up of Derry, Atkinson, Auburn, Chester, Hampstead and the Southern New Hampshire and Rockingham Planning Commissions.

The group designated the scenic byway, a 44-mile route that travels through all five towns and highlights the history and culture of the original stagecoach route between Boston and Concord.

All towns will have representation by two voting members and two alternate members. Derry was the final community to name its members to the council.

At its meeting Feb. 5, the council named Margie Ives and Richard Holmes as members for one-year terms. David Gomez and Katherine Prudhomme-OBrien will serve as alternate members.

The Byway celebrates the Southern New Hampshire landscape and communities it passes through. It also focuses on the history of Robert Frost and the Frost Farm in Derry.