, Derry, New Hampshire


March 6, 2014

Face of Derry Town Council to change

Incumbents Benson and Wetherbee are stepping down


In addition to electing two new councilors, voters will choose three new Derry Public Library trustees and a Trustee of the Trust Fund. Other contested races are Supervisors of the Checklist for two open positions.

Incumbents Dorothy Wiley and Phyllis Howard hope to earn more time as Derry Public Library trustees and go up against M. Jackie Dempsey, Lynn Mann, James Thomas and Christina Mentus for two open positions for three years.

Kelly Mahony and Joel Olbricht are running for the sole three-year Trustee of the Trust Fund job. Aimee Huntemann and Ed Ciancio, both incumbents, are running uncontested for two open Taylor Library trustee positions for three years.

Incumbents Renee and Lorraine Routhier seek more time as Supervisors of the Checklist, running against Janet Bhagat and Peg Mullins for two open positions.

Incumbent town moderator Margie Ives is running again for another two-year term.

She encouraged everyone to get out and vote during a recent candidate forum held at the Derry cable studio.

She said her job entails a lot of details all year long to keep the voting procedures straightforward and correct in town. She said she gets the biggest thrill when election day arrives and she sees the process in action.

Polls are open in Derry on March 11 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Districts 1 and 3 vote at Pinkerton Academy; District 2 cast ballots at Calvary Bible Church, and District 4 heads to Gilbert H. Hood Middle School.

Text Only | Photo Reprints

Latest News