, Derry, New Hampshire

October 24, 2013

Derry News wins top award for third year

Derry News

---- — The staff of the Derry News and the New Hampshire edition of The Eagle-Tribune received numerous awards at the annual meeting of the New Hampshire Press Association Friday.

For the third consecutive year, the Derry News was awarded first place for general excellence in the non-daily category.

Tim Jean was named Photographer of the Year in the non-daily category, also for the third consecutive year. Jean also won first-place awards for general news and feature photos, as well as third place for picture story.

Derry News reporter Julie Huss received four second-place awards for stories on education, government, business and sports feature.

Editor Jo-Anne MacKenzie was awarded first place for editorial writing, non-daily.

Photographer Carl Russo’s photo of an indoor lacrosse practice at Pinkerton took first place in the sports photo category.

Photographer Mary Schwalm won both second and third places awards for feature and sports photos.

The New Hampshire edition of The Eagle-Tribune also received many awards.

Photographer Angie Beaulieu received first place in the daily feature photo category for her photograph of a Chihuahua reacting to a rabies shot.

Schwalm received first place in the daily multi-media presentation category for “Power to Play,” a video-story-photo package about wheelchair soccer.

The New Hampshire daily and Sunday editions of The Eagle-Tribune received second-place awards for general excellence.